Our Team

Timespan Staff

Sadie Young | Director and Curator – director@timespan.org.uk
Sadie comes to Helmsdale from the Lanchester Gallery Project in Coventry, where she was director and curator. With her post-graduate degree from the Glasgow School of Art, and a myriad of professional experiences that will aid her in her role, we have no doubt that she will make an excellent contribution to our team. She will be starting full time on the 1st of December 2017 and we hope you will make her feel welcome in her new home.

Caroline Kelly | Finance Officer, Shop Manager and Front of House Manager – finance@timespan.org.uk
You will find Caroline working hard at our reception desk and looking after all the unusual goodies in our shop. Caroline is also responsible for all things financial. Finance includes monitoring income and spending and preparing budget reports for funders.

Jacquie Aitken | Heritage Officer – archive@timespan.org.uk
As Heritage Officer Jacquie responds to public enquiries and manages museum policy and collection work. This involves overseeing genealogy services, biannual accreditation and working with volunteers. Jacquie organises educational events and workshops for the heritage programme. She currently project manages the project Revisiting our Museum.

Jo Clements | Archive Development Manager – archivedevelopment@timespan.org.uk
Our archive is a great source of information on our surrounding area and Jo is responsible for collecting and archiving this information. Jo’s role includes working with local researchers on investigating our local history, archiving and digitising information and historic images. Jo is leading the development of our archive into a more accessible resource on-site and digitally.

Frances Davis | Curator – art@timespan.org.uk
Frances has left Timespan but is currently working freelance organising the Practicing Deep Time conference and the final group residency of the 2017/18 programme.

Rona Ellis | Marketing Officer and Cafe Manager – marketing@timespan.org.uk
Rona ensures that we tell the world what is happening at Timespan online, in print and in the media. You will also find Rona in the cafe baking cakes and scones and making soup for our visitors.

Front of House Assistants – enquiries@timespan.org.uk
Lisa Macdonald
Jill Ferguson

Cafe Staff
Sydney Taylor
Anna Gillespie

Cleaning Staff
Debbie Farrall


Board of Directors

The board is non-executive and consists of 6 directors:

Anthony Schrag, Chairman
Expertise: Art, Social Art, Cultural Management

Anthony was born in Zimbabwe and grew up in the Middle East, UK, Canada and is currently based somewhere in Scotland.

He is a practising artist and researcher who has worked nationally and internationally, including residencies in Iceland, USA, Canada, Pakistan, Finland, The Netherlands and South Africa, among others. He works in a participatory manner, and central to his practice is a discussion about the place of art in a social context. His practice-based PhD, completed in 2016, explored the relationship between artists, institutions and the public, looking specifically at a productive nature of conflict within institutionally supported participatory/public art projects. His area of expertise lies in the nature of ‘social art practices’ and is a full time lecturer on the Cultural Management course at Queen Margaret University in Edinburgh.

He first became involved with Timespan in 2013 when he was invited to develop a public art project on the legacy of the Highland Clearances 200 years after the Kildonan Riots.

Alison MacDonald, Secretary
Expertise: Human Resources

Alison has been a Director of Timespan and member of the Board since 2003, as well as Company Secretary since 2004. Alison is responsible for ensuring Companies House has up to date information for Timespan, which includes the filing of all statutory company information. Alison has been working in HR since 1994 and is currently an HR Business Partner for Scottish Natural Heritage. She advises the Board on HR strategy and employment law and also supports the Director on operational HR issues within Timespan.

Catriona Whitfield, Treasurer
Expertise: Accountancy, Law

Catriona Whitfield is treasurer and is as such is responsible for ensuring the correct finance records, policies and procedures are in place.

Catriona has a degree in law and qualified as a chartered accountant in 1991.  She has a professional background in audit, investigations, dispute resolution and commercial litigation.  She is currently a member of the Scottish Solicitors Disciplinary Tribunal and of the Scottish Charity Appeals Panel. She was for five years a trustee of an educational charity in Sutherland and was for four years a member of board of management of North Highland College.

Joan Baxter
Expertise: Art and Craft, Education

Joan Baxter is an internationally renowned artist working in the field of woven tapestry. Her work is inspired by the landscapes and cultural heritage of the far north.
She studied at Edinburgh College of Art and Warsaw Academy of Fine Arts and has worked in commercial tapestry studios in the UK and Australia. Since 1987 she has been an independent artist, exhibiting, working to commission, teaching and lecturing.
Joan brings a variety of skills to the board – creative, curatorial and educational.

Jean Sargent 
Expertise: Former chair, scientist, project management, local heritage, fundraising, staff management

After a career in medical research, Jean retired to Helmsdale, the birth place of her father. She soon became interested in and involved with Timespan and has been a member of the Board of Trustees for over 8 years. She became Chair, a post that she held for almost 6 years, during a time of immense change for the organisation when she gained many new skills. She has a deep interest in the community and its heritage and enjoys the diversity provided by the arts. Jean is also a director of the Helmsdale and District Development Trust, secretary to the Friends of Kildonan Church and is an active member of Bunillidh Coastal Rowing Club.

Anne Sutherland
Expertise: Business management, strategy, Social Enterprise

With the exception of seven years working for a multi-national, Anne spent most of her career in the public sector, in training, skills development and latterly in community development – involving assessing community projects for public sector funding, and working directly with community groups in identifying their local needs and turning them into projects.



Support Committees

Arts Advisory Panel: Penny Woodley, Lucy Conway (Eigg Box, Scotland), Vytautas Michelkevičius (Nida Art Colony, Lithuania), Tinna Guðmundsdóttir (Skaftfell, Iceland)
Heritage Group: local heritage research, development of projects for the community archive. Assure standard of quality. Chair: Maggie Codd
Fundraising committee: provide volunteer income stream and add to local events calendar. Chair: Penny Woodley
Genealogy Group: Specialised sub-group of Heritage Committee, expert knowledge and income generation. Led by Joan Murray
Gardening committee: Re-installation of the herb garden, expertise and volunteer time. Chair: Penny Woodley

Timespan has over 35 active volunteers working with us all year round. We hold a volunteer database that outlines the skills and interests of the individuals who are asked for their expertise, help and advice.

We could not survive without the generous help of our volunteers and voluntary staff hours. If you are interested in volunteering with us click here.